Amit Chakrabarti

Department of Computer Science, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH 03755, USA.
Photo of Amit

Areas of Interest
Most aspects of Theoretical Computer Science
Especially: complexity theory, data stream algorithms, approximation algorithms
My curriculum vitae as of March 2022
Ph.D., Princeton University, 2002
B.Tech., IIT Bombay, 1997
Computer Science (ECSC) room 111, HB 6211, +1-603-646-1710 (tel), -1672 (fax)
Currently Teaching
Not teaching in Spring 2024
Upcoming Courses
Past Courses

Papers, with brief synopses and downloadable copies
Ph.D. thesis, "Limitations of Non-Uniform Computational Models"
Funding & Awards
NSF CAREER Award; plus these other NSF awards (from the CCF and IIS divisons);
Karen E. Wetterhahn Award; McLane Family Fellowship; Friedman Family Fellowship.
I am grateful for all of this generous support of my work.
Program Committees and Editorial Service
Served as Program Commitee (PC) Chair for RANDOM 2022.
Served on the technical program committee (PC) of
   FOCS 2022, RANDOM 2021, WADS 2019, SODA 2019, ISIT 2018, ESA 2017,
   CCC 2017, SODA 2015, RANDOM 2013, STOC 2013, CCC 2008,
   FOCS 2009, COCOON 2010, FSTTCS 2010, TAMC 2011, CATS 2013.
Served as Associate Editor of Information Processing Letters (2020-2022).
I served as the Publicity Chair for ACM SIGACT from 2010 to 2017.
From Spring 2004 to Fall 2007, I organized the Dartmouth Theory Seminars.
Since Fall 2005, I have been organizing the Theory Reading Group.
Jeffrey Jiang '24
Postdoc: Sofya Vorotnikova
Graduate: Manuel Stoeckl, Ph.D., 2024; Prantar Ghosh, Ph.D., 2022; Suman Bera, Ph.D., 2019;
   Sagar Kale, Ph.D., 2017; Ranganath Kondapally, Ph.D., 2012; Chrisil Arackaparambil, Ph.D., 2011;
   Joshua Brody, Ph.D., 2010; Anna Shubina, Ph.D., 2007; Pei Wu, M.S., 2015; Zhenghui Wang, M.S., 2013.
Undergraduate: Eli Friedman '25, Boxian Wang '23 (Honors: thesis), Benjamin Cape '22 (Presidential scholar),
   Themistoklis Haris '21 (High Honors: thesis), Yining Chen '18 (High Honors: thesis),
   Matthew Jin '17 (High Honors: thesis), Ajay Kannan '15 (Presidential scholar),
   Matthew Harding '13 (High Honors: thesis), Melissa Queen '13 (Honors: thesis),
   Edward Talmage '12 (Honors: thesis), Karn Seth '10 (High Honors: thesis),
   William Henderson-Frost '08 (High Honors: thesis), Owen Worley '09 (Presidential scholar),
   David Blinn '06 (High Honors: thesis), Marco Adelfio '05 (High Honors: thesis), Khanh Do Ba '06 (summer project).
Prospective Students
Are you interested in theoretical topics (either algorithms or complexity)?
Are you a CS Major with solid mathematical foundations, looking for a thesis topic?
Please stop by for a chat.

© 2008–2038 Amit Chakrabarti      Last modified 2024-May-05